The Theosophical
Society in Australia

Perth Branch

Introduction to The Theosophical Society in Australia

The Theosophical Society was formed in New York City in 1875. Branches were established in Australia not long afterwards, and in 1895 they were formed into what is now known as the Australian Section of the Theosophical Society.

the crest wave of intellectual advancement

The Theosophical Society was officially formed in New York City on 17 November 1875 by Helena Petrovna Blavatsky, Colonel Henry Steel Olcott, Willian Quan Judge, and sixteen others. 

The TS in Australia was constituted in 1895 and, from the outset, attracted an impressive array of people to its ranks — artists, writers, journalists, photographers, social activists and movie stars: John Watt Beattie, Edith Cowan, Grace Cossington-Smith, Bessie Rieschbeith, Judith Fletcher, Florence Fuller, Axel Poignant, Prof. John Smith, Peter Finch, among many others.


You might be interested in...

The Five Seeds: Applying the Principles

Tim Boyd, in a lively presentation enriched by a deep appreciation of Tibetan Buddhism.

The Impact of Compassion

Compassionate service was a way of life for Carolyn Harrod


Jean Carroll, Sunshine Coast

2016 National Convention

Videos from the Australian Convention: Perth, Western Australia 2016 (9 items in collection)